History of the Maillot Jaune Club


Australia’s most celebrated cycling social group is the Melbourne based Maillot Jaune Club, formed in 1998 by two great exponents of the sport, Gordon Johnson and John Trevorrow.

The ultimate symbol of cycling, the Maillot Jaune, was selected as the Club’s name by the two visionary champions.

Their aim was to form a social club where bikies of all ages could meet four or five times a year over lunch and other special events, to enjoy each other’s company and assist where possible the future of cycling.

The Maillot Jaune is a progressive social club with a stamp of approval from many recent champions and others who currently race on the world stage.

The Maillot Jaune Club has eight Australian wearers of the Maillot Jaune (the ‘Yellow Jersey’): Phil Anderson, Stuart O’Grady, Bradley McGee, Robbie McEwen, Cadel Evans, Simon Gerrans, Baden Cooke and Rohan Dennis.

The Club also has many Sun Tour greats amongst its membership. They include Barry Waddell, John Trevorrow, John Young (dec.), George Goodwin (dec.), Hec Sutherland (dec.) and Trevor Williamson.